Hater Rant

Tell me how you really feel.

Keep your dog to yourself

with 6 comments

I hate people that bring their dogs to bars. Its ridiculous. Like bringing your child. Dogs have no business in bars. They don’t drink and i’m pretty sure the smoke is bad for them. Its one thing if you’re stepping in to buy a sixer or something, but to come into a noisy, smoky, drunk-y room where other people are just trying to smoke and drink in peace with your big lumbering pet is just inappropriate.

But what really pisses me off is the sense of entitlement that dog owners seem to feel on this matter. Like if i have a problem with you having your dog sprawled out like a throw rug somewhere between me and the bar I must be a bad person. Whatever. Not everyone likes dogs. To me its the equivalent of bringing a large, dangerous creature into a public place.

What if i decided to bring my pet fucking tiger around with me everywhere?

What?… My velociraptor’s on a leash. Is it bothering you? Its super nice. You can pet it if you want.

The fact that your pet canine makes me uncomfortable isn’t my fault. If you want to hang out with your dog so bad, do it at home. Shit, if i wanted to hang out with  your dog, i’d come over. But i don’t, and i wont so don’t force it on me in a place i specifically come to to feel relaxed and comfortable.

Written by haterrant

January 14, 2011 at 4:10 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have two dogs i adore, and this irritates me to no end.
    It makes me wish i chose “health inspector” as my career path so i could fine every single establishment i see it happen in.

    Isn’t there some sort of high pitched sonic emitter that’ll make dogs go nuts?
    That would be awesome.

    Carlos

    January 14, 2011 at 4:33 pm

    • I always thought there must be some conflict with health department regulations. I’ve been tempted to try to report these places, but then where would i go to play pool?

      haterrant

      January 16, 2011 at 11:42 am

  2. True story: Was sitting inside a picture window seat at an indoor/outdoor cafe. A man who obviously thinks his dog is his big spoiled baby is sitting directly on the other side of the glass. All the tables, inside and out, were full of diners, or at the very least snackers. The man notices his little dogs, shall we say “under-tail orifice,” that it wasn’t as pristine, I guess, as he felt his baby should parade around the cafe with. Without a second thought to whomever might be around, or what activity (eating) they may be engaged in, he took his napkin off his table, gently moistened with the condensation of his drink, and WIPED HIS DOG’S ASS with napkin and iced-coffee residue, put the soiled item back on the table, and continued on with the chat he was having with his friend. I swear its true, because HOW COULD ANYBODY MAKE THAT UP?

    Big Easy Bridget

    January 14, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    • This is a sad, sad story. And how could anyone think that using the restaurants napkin for such a purpose is ok? Gross!

      haterrant

      January 16, 2011 at 11:43 am

  3. I feel like people who bring their dogs to the bar are so desperate for attention. They should go to the park. That is an appropriate place to fish for pet compliments. If they are still lonely when they are done I suggest moving on to Craigslist personals.

    Elizabeth

    January 17, 2011 at 2:36 pm

  4. I wish you had a tiger.

    Peter Hamtramck

    January 31, 2011 at 5:03 pm


Leave a Reply

