Hater Rant

Tell me how you really feel.

Contact Hate

with 3 comments

Has this ever happened to you?:

Close friend gets in a fight with his/her significant other or a mutual acquaintance or maybe a third party friend. So your close friend vents and you rant together and you’re all “I’m mad at them now too”. Following me so far? You and your bestie are now joined in mutual dislike and derision of this person that you yourself may hardly even know. Anyhow, fast forward a day or week or two and your bestie has made up with said offender.

This scenario in and of itself is not the problem nor the root of my hate. The issue I have is that suddenly I have no reason to be mad at this person either. Understandably. I mean, it wasn’t my fight to begin with. However, and here is where the true problem lies, I didn’t get the satisfaction of an apology or working it out over brunch. Nobody sent me a sheepish text two days later about how we should hang out and talk things over. Nobody even considered my feelings. Now I’m sitting around with my friend and the offender just seething, but in reality everything is fine now. Honky-fucking-dory. I may have known basically nothing about this individual until my friend got mad at them. Like 90% of my knowledge of their existence comes from the information surrounding the fight. But now, magically, I’ve got to let it go. I think that’s asking a bit much.

What actually ends up happening is that I’m secretly mad at this person forever. Period. For two reasons. The first being explained above, and also the warranted suspicion that this individual may hurt my friend at some point in the future.

So I’m self-centered. So what? You knew that shit. And you’re not better than me. But, seeing as I like to be known not only as a prolific hater and ranter, but also as a problem-solver, i’ve come up with a solution.

Group Apologies.

When you realize that you’ve slighted someone close to you and you have swallowed your pride enough to say you’re sorry, don’t just tell them, tell EVERYONE. Mass text it. Facebook it. Invite the apologize-ee and all their close friends out for drinks so we get the apology first-hand. It’s really the only way for everyone involved to be over your tiff and not see you as the total douche they saw you as a couple of days ago. Look, I’m just trying to help.

Only a first-hand apology can negate second-hand hate. Thats your take-away lesson today. You’re welcome.

Written by haterrant

December 21, 2010 at 10:54 am

Posted in Common Courtesy

Tagged with , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. girls r weird

    Carlos

    December 21, 2010 at 11:56 am

  2. so brilliant.

    buramoe2

    December 21, 2010 at 11:57 am

  3. @carlos: you know you know what im talkin about.
    @buramoe2: thanks, hon!

    haterrant

    December 22, 2010 at 2:01 pm


Leave a Reply

